Climate Leadership Awards

The annual Second Nature Climate Leadership Awards recognize innovative and advanced leadership in sustainability, climate mitigation, and resilience at signatory campuses of the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment. They do so based on demonstrated advances in innovation, embedded opportunities, and student preparedness with relation to sustainability and climate action.

New in 2015!

Second Nature is partnering with the U.S. Green Building Council’s (USGBC) Center for Green Schools for the 6th annual Second Nature Climate Leadership Awards. Award winners will be recognized as part of the 2015 Greenbuild Leadership Awards Program on November 19 in Washington, DC, benefiting from global publicity opportunities.

Award finalists will be notified in late summer 2015, with final two award winners notified in early September. Finalists that are not selected for the award will be invited to participate in a video competition hosted by Second Nature. No video submissions are due at the time of the initial application, and you will receive additional information in September.

2015 Finalists Announced!

Two-Year Institutions

Alamo Colleges, TX
Cedar Valley College, TX
Central New Mexico Community College, NM
College of Lake County, IL
SUNY Sullivan, NY
SUNY Jefferson Community College, NY
Western Technical College, WI

Four-Year Institutions

Agnes Scott College, GA
Appalachian State University, NC
California State University, Northridge, CA
Furman University, SC
Huston-Tillotson University, TX
Loyola University Chicago, IL
Southern Oregon University, OR
The George Washington University, DC
University at Buffalo (SUNY), NY
University of California, Merced, CA
University of Massachusetts Lowell, MA
University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN

For more information, read the press release